Historic Preservation Awards

Each year, the Historic Preservation Committee and the Department of Community Development & Planning recognize restoration efforts that have transformed some of Bristol Tennessee’s oldest residential and commercial structures to their former glory.  

Only the exterior of a building and property are considered for the award and nominations are based on:

  • The preservation of historic buildings through sensitive renovations, repairs, and/or compatible building additions.
  • The positive impact on the community and historic resources in Bristol.
  • Overall quality of work.
  • The project’s ability to serve as an example for other historic preservation projects.

Historic Preservation Committee

The Historic Preservation Committee is a subcommittee of the Bristol Tennessee Planning Commission. Current members are:

  • Susan Tanner
  • Debra Kennedy
  • Rebecca Wilkerson
  • Lucia Schneider
  • Maggie Elliott
  • Vickie Mitoraj
  • Andrew Snyder


Applications for the 2024 awards program are currently being accepted. The deadline to submit a nomination is March 31, 2024. Nominations submitted after this date will be considered next year.

You may use the convenient online nomination form or print the PDF nomination form available here. Printed forms may be mailed or hand delivered to the Bristol Tennessee Community Development and Planning Department, 104 8th Street, Bristol, TN, 37620. Please be sure to include the required photographs. For assistance or additional information, please contact Heather Moore at hmoore@bristoltn.org or (423) 989-5549.

Historic Districts and Award Categories

The historic districts include: the Bristol Downtown Commercial Historic District, the Fairmount Neighborhood Historic District, and the Holston Avenue Neighborhood Historic District.  Please refer to the map for district information. Property awards are available in each historic district. A City-wide Award is available for a project located within the city limits but outside of one of the designated historic districts, and other categories may also be available including Mid-Century Modern.  

Anyone may nominate a property and you may even nominate your own property. The nomination process is free, and assistance is available.

Past Winners 2